ResearchDoctorates
Felix Mehrens

Felix Mehrens

Title awarding university: Leibniz Universität Hannover

Cooperation: KraussMaffei Extrusion GmbH

Title of the doctoral project: Development of an analysis and recycling method for the production of plastic recyclates requiring approval

Short description of the doctoral project: Finite fossile resources and climate change show the importance of a careful handling of recyclable materials. This includes a working circular economy with a recycling system in which high-quality recyclates are obtained from plastic waste. For this reason, a special focus in the development of mechanical recycling methods is on the removal of contamination from plastic waste. All contamination must be reduced to such an extent that the use of recyclates does not pose a health risk to humans and all legal requirements are met. Especially in sensitive areas of application such as cosmetics packaging, toys and sports equipment, textiles or the food industry, the volatile and odour-active substances must be removed from the plastic in order to prevent a negative impact on the smell or taste of the food.

Therefore, within the scope of the dissertation, a recycling process for the production of plastic recyclates requiring approval is to be developed. Based on the adaptation and further development of analytical methods for evaluating process efficiency, methods for increasing recyclate quality are to be identified, developed and optimised.

The aim of the work is to develop a recycling method with which it is possible to produce a recyclate from a defined input stream of plastic waste that meets official and application-specific approval requirements.

© Bittner | IKK

Felix Mehrens

Titelverleihende Universität: Leibniz Universität Hannover

Kooperation: KraussMaffei Extrusion GmbH

Titel des Promotionsvorhabens: Entwicklung einer Analyse- und Recyclingmethode zur Herstellung von zulassungsbedürftigen Kunststoffrezyklaten

Kurzbeschreibung des Promotionsvorhabens: Endliche Rohstoffe und der Klimawandel zeigen die Bedeutung eines bewussten Umgangs mit Wertstoffen. Dazu gehört eine funktionierende Kreislaufwirtschaft mit einem Recyclingsystem, in dem aus Kunststoffabfällen hochwertige Rezyklate gewonnen werden. Aus diesem Grund liegt ein besonderer Fokus bei der Entwicklung von mechanischen Recyclingmethoden auf der Entfernung von Kontaminationen aus Kunststoffabfällen. Alle Kontamination sind so weit zu reduzieren, dass von der Rezyklatverwendung keine gesundheitliche Gefahr für den Menschen ausgeht und alle gesetzlichen Vorgaben eingehalten werden. Besonders müssen in sensiblen Anwendungsbereichen wie Kosmetikverpackungen, Spiel- und Sportgeräte, Textilien oder der Lebensmittelindustrie die flüchtigen und geruchsaktiven Stoffe aus dem Kunststoff entfernt werden, um eine negative Beeinträchtigung auf den Geruch oder Geschmack der Lebensmittel zu verhindern.

Im Rahmen der Dissertation soll deshalb ein Recyclingprozess für die Herstellung von zulassungsbedürftigen Kunststoffrezyklaten entwickelt werden. Aufbauend auf der Adaption und Weiterentwicklung von analytischen Methoden zur Bewertung der Prozesseffizienz sollen Methoden zur Steigerung der Rezyklatqualität identifiziert, entwickelt und optimiert werden.

Ziel der Arbeit ist die Entwicklung einer Recyclingmethode, mit der es gelingt, aus einem definierten Inputstrom von Kunststoffabfällen ein Rezyklat herzustellen, welches behördliche und anwendungsspezifische Zulassungsanforderungen einhält.

 

© Bittner | IKK